In high school, it can be easy for minors to make poor decisions when it comes to alcohol. This can lead to them getting charged with MIP, and a conviction can have major consequences for their future.
MIP convictions can impact your criminal and driving record, and you should have a lawyer help you fight the charges. Read more.
What is MIP?
The state of Missouri has strict laws regarding underage alcohol consumption, and if you are found in violation of these rules, it can lead to significant penalties. A first-time MIP conviction is classified as a Class D Misdemeanor and can carry jail time, fines and a 30 day driver’s license suspension. A second or subsequent MIP charge will be classified as a Class A Misdemeanor and can lead to even more severe consequences including up to one year in jail.
A minor can be charged with MIP if they are found to have any kind of physical possession of alcohol or if they are found to be visibly intoxicated. They may also be required to take a blood or breath test to determine their BAC level. Under the law, a minor impliedly consents to these chemical tests when they are suspected of violating MIP.
If you or your child is facing a MIP charge, it is critical that you have exceptional legal representation to help prevent the conviction from sticking on their record. We can often negotiate to get a MIP charged amended or dismissed, so it does not have the long-term negative effects that can come with a conviction.
What are the penalties for MIP?
The penalties for MIP in Missouri depend on whether it is a first or second offense. A first conviction is a Class D misdemeanor, and it results in fines and a 30-day suspension of your driver’s license. A second conviction can result in a year or more of driving privileges being suspended. The conviction can also hurt your future when it comes to employment and college applications.
A person under the age of 21 can be charged with MIP if they are found to have physical possession of an alcoholic beverage, even if it has not been opened. They can also be charged if they appear visibly intoxicated or have a detectable amount of alcohol in their blood, breath, or saliva.
A MIP conviction on your record can hurt your future, especially since most employers do criminal background checks. An experienced St. Louis MIP defense attorney can try to have the charge amended or dismissed to minimize its impact on your life.
What are the defenses to MIP?
Every citizen has the right to a trial when they are charged with a misdemeanor. This includes minors. If you or your child is arrested for MIP in Missouri, it is important to speak to an experienced lawyer as soon as possible. A Columbia, MO MIP attorney can help you get a lighter sentence or have the misdemeanor expunged from your record.
If you are under the age of 21 and have alcohol in your possession, whether it is in a sealed or unopened container, you can be charged with MIP. A MIP conviction can lead to jail time, fines, and even the revocation of your driver’s license.
MIPs are serious crimes that can affect your life in many ways. If you have an MIP on your record, it can prevent you from finding work and may be used against you in any future criminal proceedings. You can have your MIP expunged by filing an application with the court where you pleaded or was found guilty.
How can I fight MIP?
Under Missouri law, a minor in possession (MIP) conviction can have serious consequences. Even a first offense can result in jail time, fines and a suspended driver’s license. A MIP conviction also stays on your record for life unless you successfully get it expunged.
To win your case, you will need the help of a Springfield MIP lawyer. Often police officers come down too hard on underage suspects and make errors when they write tickets. Sometimes breathalyzer tests are misread or improperly administered. An experienced defense attorney can use these mistakes to your advantage, potentially lowering or dismissing the charges against you.
In some cases, you can get a MIP conviction expunged from your record after a certain amount of time passes since the conviction or once you turn age 21. An experienced attorney can help you fight to get your MIP removed from your record and help you avoid serious penalties for underage drinking.